LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

18 JANUARY 2021

Present: Councillor Merry(Chairperson)

Councillors Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister

1 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Graham Thomas.

2 : APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

It was noted that Council, at its annual meeting, on 26 November 2020 appointed Councillor Sarah Merry as Chairperson, Local Authority Governor Panel 2018 – 2019.

3 : MEMBERSHIP & TERMS OF REFERENCE

It was noted that Council, at its annual meeting, on 26 November 2020 approved the following:

Membership: Councillors Dilwar Ali, , Sean Driscoll, Robert Hopkins, Sue Lent, Ashley Lister, Sarah Merry, and Graham Thomas

Terms of Reference:

- (a) To advise the Council on appointments and removal of Governors to those places allocated to the Local Authority;
- (b) To consider and make decisions relating to the recruitment, training and vetting of potential Governors and any other matters that may be referred to the Panel by the Cabinet for the Constitution Committee; and
- (c) All Members of the Committee will be required to undertake relevant training to enable them to properly discharge their duties.

4 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations of interest were received in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct.

Councillor	Item – School	Reason	
Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali,	8b – Baden Powell	Personal - Fellow	
Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent	Primary School	Councillor	
and Lister			
Councillor Merry	8b – Cathays High	Personal & Prejudicial	
	School	 Referee for applicant 	
Cllrs Dilwar Ali,	8b – Cathays High	Personal – Fellow	
Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent	School	Councillor	
and Lister			

Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister	8b – Fitzalan High School	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Cllrs Merry, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister	8b – Hawthorn Primary School	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Councillor Dilwar Ali	8b – Hawthorn Primary School	Prejudicial – Applicant
Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister	8b – Hywel Dda Primary School	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister	8b – Marlborough Primary School	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister	8b – Ninian Park Primary School	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali Driscoll, Hopkins and Lister	8b – Roath Park Primary School	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Councillor Lent	8b – Roath Park Primary School	Prejudicial – Applicant
Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister	8b – Rumney Primary School	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister	8b – St Cadoc's Catholic Primary School	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister	8b – Ysgol Mynydd Bychan	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Cllrs Merry, Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent and Lister	8b – Ysgol y Berllan Deg	Personal – Fellow Councillor
Karen Dell'Armi – Chair of Cardiff Governors Association	8a – Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Plasmawr	Personal – knows applicant
Karen Dell'Armi – Chair of Cardiff Governors Association	8b – Cardiff High School	Personal – knows applicant
Karen Dell'Armi – Chair of Cardiff Governors Association	8b – Fitzalan High School	Personal – knows applicant

5 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 24 November 2020 were approved as a correct record of the meeting.

6 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The list of Local Authority School Governor vacancies was received by the Committee and noted.

7 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED – That the public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business as it contains exempt information by virtue of paragraphs 12 and 21 of Parts 4 and 5 of Schedule 12A Local Authority Government Act 1972.

8 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies against the criteria matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF	PROPOSED
		VACANCY	APPOINTMENT
Cantonian High	Fairwater	03/01/20	Ruth Jackson
School			
Ysgol Gyfun	Fairwater	04/04/20	Caroline Cooksley
Gymraeg Plasmawr			

The Committee received and considered applications to future vacancies against the criteria matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to future Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF	PROPOSED
		VACANCY	APPOINTMENT
Albany Primary	Plasnewydd	01/05/21	Mark Stephens
School			
Baden Powell	Splott	24/03/21	Cllr Jane Henshaw
Primary School			
Bishop Childs	Trowbridge	01/05/21	Richard Leyshon
C.W Primary			
School			
Bryn Celyn	Pentwyn	01/05/21	Mark Perrins
Primary School			
Cardiff High	Cyncoed	24/03/21	Julia Phillips-Lewis
School		01/05/21	Liane Wigley
Cathays High	Gabalfa	01/05/21	Cllr Peter Wong
School			
Coed Glas	Llanishen	01/05/21	Gary Hunt
Primary School		01/05/21	Michael Bryan
Corpus Christi	Lisvane	01/05/21	Marcia Donovan
High School			

	1	1	
Fitzalan High	Canton	24/04/21	Cerys Furlong
School		01/05/21	Jaswant Singh
		01/05/21	Cllr Ramesh Patel
Glyncoed Primary School	Pentwyn	01/05/21	David Hughes
Hawthorn Primary	Llandaff	01/05/21	Cllr Dilwar Ali
School	North	01/05/21	Paul Rock
		01/05/21	Steven Chadwell
Hywel Dda Primary School	Ely	29/01/21	Cllr Andrea Gibson
Llanedeyrn Primary School	Pentwyn	01/05/21	Alex Ingram
Llysfaen Primary School	Lisvane	01/05/21	Susan Powel
Marlborough Primary School	Penylan	01/05/21	Cllr Rodney Berman
Meadowbank Primary School	Llandaff North	01/05/21	Mike Borley
Mount Stuart Primary School	Butetown	01/05/21	Ivor Gittens
Ninian Park Primary School	Grangetown	01/05/21	Cllr Lynda Thorne
Oakfield Primary School	Trowbridge	01/05/21	Siân Burgess-Hunt
Pentrebane Primary School	Fairwater	29/03/21	Eileen Nicholls
Radyr Comprehensive School	Radyr & Morganstown	01/05/21	David Silver
Rhiwbeina Primary School	Rhiwbina	29/03/21	Sivagnanam Sivapalan
Roath Park Primary School	Plasnewydd	01/05/21	Cllr Susan Lent
Rumney Primary School	Rumney	01/05/21	Caroline Derbyshire Cllr Robert
		01/05/21	Derbyshire
St Cadoc's Catholic Primary School	Llanrumney	01/05/21	Cllr Jacqui Parry
St Joseph's Catholic Primary School	Gabalfa	01/05/21	Simon Lawrence
St Teilo's CW High School	Pentwyn	01/05/21	Jenny Rathbone
Trelai Primary School	Caerau	24/03/21	Alexander Jackson
Whitchurch Primary School	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	01/05/21	Nicola Davies
Ysgol Gyfun	Penylan	01/05/21	Elinor Patchell
Gymraeg Bro		01/05/21	Gaynor Williams

Edern		01/05/21	Hefin Jones
Ysgol Gyfun	Llandaff	01/05/21	Elinor Patchell
Gymraeg Glantaf	North		

9 : URGENT ITEMS (IF ANY)

No urgent items were tabled

10 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Panel is on Monday 8 March 2021 via MS Teams.

The meeting terminated at 6.30 pm